Prof. Kanika Sharma is presently Course Director and Dr. Harshada Joshi is Incharge of the department. Department has one assistant professor. Senior retired faculty Prof. B.L. Chaudhary, Prof. K.G. Ramawat, Prof. S.D. Purohit, Prof. S.S. Katewa, Prof. Maheep Bhatnagar and visiting faculties from other universities are invited time to time for expert talks. The faculty from sister department Dr. Rohini Trivedi, Dr. Harish, Dr. Vineet Soni and Dr. Jaya Arora are also invited regularly to deliver lectures. All the faculty members including guest faculty are well qualified and experienced teachers of high standing in their subjects.
Dr. Harshada Joshi is Assistant Professor of Biotechnology and Incharge, Department of Biotechnology. She has more than 12 years of teaching and research experience. She is specialized in Applied Microbiology and Molecular Biology. Her current research is mainly focused on development of probiotics, searching bacterial diversity of fresh water lakes, application of heavy metal tolerant bacteria for bioremediation, optimization of bacterial glucose isomerase production and detection of calcite solubilization in bacteria. She is actively involved in research and has published more than 40 research papers in journals of national and international repute. She has presented her research findings in several conferences and symposia. She has participated in the 4th World Congress of Cell and Molecular Biology in 2005, held at Poitiers (France) and has also visited Holland and Belgium in connection to academic pursuance. Four candidates have been awarded Ph.D. degrees and several undergraduate and postgraduate students have completed projects under her supervision. She has successfully completed research projects funded by UGC and DST, New Delhi. She is a co-author in five books of pharmaceutical microbiology and biochemistry.
Supporting Teaching Faculty
Dr. Rajesh Kumar Suthar M.Sc., Ph. D.
His area of specialization is plant biotechnology, especially micropropagation of plants of forestry, ornamental and medicinal importance. He also worked as JRF for DBT, New Delhi funded research project for micropropagation of medicinal plants. His current interest includes plant-microbes interaction and morpho-physiological and biochemical characterization of micropropagated plants.
Dr. Khushdil Khan M.Sc., Ph. D.
His fields of interests are Plant tissue culture, Plant molecular biology, Plant cytogenetics and Plant proteomics. He has undergone training in advanced aspects of plant biotechnology. He was awarded CSIR-NET JRF and SRF and worked as SRF for DST, New Delhi funded project.
Dr. Bhawana Dangi M.Sc., Ph. D.
She was awarded CSIR-NET JRF and SRF. She is specialized in plant tissue culture, plant molecular biology and recombinant DNA technology. She has conducted thorough research on genetic transformation of plants of medicinal importance.

Dr. Ali Asger Bhojiya M.Sc., Ph. D.
He was awarded CSIR-NET and also JRF and SRF under the Maulana Azad National Fellowship scheme of UGC. His area of specialization is environmental microbiology and molecular biology. His current research interest is in exploring the application of heavy metal tolerant bacteria in bioremediation.


Dr. Inu Rawal M.Sc., Ph.D.
She was awarded CSIR-NET JRF and SRF. Her field of interests includes water microbiology and molecular biology. She has carried out extensive research for searching bacterial diversity along with physicochemical analysis of fresh water lakes.

Dr. Priyanka Babel M.Sc., Ph.D.
She was awarded UGC-NET JRF and SRF. Her main research interests include plant tissue culture, plant physiology, molecular biology and biochemistry. She is actively involved in carrying out micropropagation of plants of forestry and medicinal importance.
DHWANI SHRMA (M. Sc. and Ph.D.)
She was awarded UGC-NET. Her main research interests include plant tissue culture, plant physiology, molecular biology, diversity analysis and biochemistry. She is actively involved in carrying out stress related studies in plant.
Her area of specialization is Animal Biotechnology and Molecular Neuroscience. Her field of interests include animal cell culture, especially hippocampal neuronal cell culture, Immunohistochemistry, behavioral and histologlical neuroscience.

List of Eminent Visitors to the Department

  1. Prof. N. Sankhala, Scientist, Texas A & M University, Dallas, Texas
  2. Dr. Shinjairo Ogita, Scientist, Japan
  3. Prof. S.C. Maheshwari, Delhi University, Delhi
  4. Prof. Akhilesh Tyagi, Department of Plant Molecular Biology, Delhi University, Delhi
  5. Prof. A. K. Tripathi, Head, School of Biotechnology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  6. Dr. Gotam K. Jarori, Scientist, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research,Mumbai
  7. Dr. F. A. Habib, Department of Plant Pathology, Kansas State University, USA
  8. Dr. Shailendra Goel, Department of Botany, Delhi University, North Campus,  New Delhi
  9. Dr. Saurabh Raghuvanshi, Department of Plant Molecular Biology, Delhi University, New Delhi
  10. Dr. Sanjay Kapoor, Department of Plant Molecular Biology, Delhi University, New Delhi
  11. Prof. R.C. Dubey , Department of Botany & Microbiology,  Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya, Haridwar
  12. Dr. H. S. Chawla, G. B. Pant  University of  Agriculture and Technology, Pant Nagar
  13. Dr. Bela Nabar, Department of Microbiology, Smt. C.H.M. College, Mumbai.










Department of Biotechnology Vigyan Bhawan - Block ‘B’ ; New Campus, Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur - 313001 (Raj.)
    ©2015 All Rights Reserved.
Designed & Developed by: @ S&S